Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I may give more info than needed but I would like to fix this problem.

Although I have been using a computer for many years I am not an expert. If you could reply in elementary terms please.

drives
A: floppy disc

C: 80 GB WD hard drive

D: 14 GB Dell OE hard drive which I believe is an IBM. I use this as my scratch disc with photo programs. I never could get all 14MB open. I think, in spite of using "System Commander" I never got rid of Windows 98SE which came with the Dell. This has not been a problem for me as the remaining space is ample for my needs.

E: Zip Drive (250MB)

F: CD burner

G: CD-DVD player

H: a card reader usually plugged into USB

the computer is custom built

Windows XP Pro

AMD 3000X CPU

1280MB 400DDR RAM

128MB dual monitor video card

5 channel audio card

numerous USB and Fire Wire ports

Until yesterday everything seemed to be running fine. Every now and then I have Windows check for errors on drive C. As always, it allows me to have this done the next time I boot up. However, unlike the past, I also set it to check drive D. I restarted the computer. After the usual info and the Windows XP intro screen I get a message telling me that Windows is finished checking drive C. No mention of drive D. And, there is sticks. The hard drive light blinked slowly and dimly so I left it on overnight (thinking perhaps it needed more time. Finally I reinstalled XP Pro on drive C. At least now I can get access to the internet to seek help. Of course the Windows I am using doesn't give me access to my programs, pictures, et.
I would like to have things as they were before. I am now using a dial-up connection as my usual browser (Opera) and cable connection don't work. Any advise? Thanks, Craig