Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently discovered that my AGP slot was disabled, this was due to my chipset drivers being installed incorectly,i rectified this and bumped my AGP slot up to 8x and saw a nice preformance improvement in my games but after a few minutes of playing i noticed some Glitches on screen,Which got progresively worse as i played on (I think the technical word is Artifacts).so i shut down the computer and checked the card Which i thought was quite hot (Although im no expert on how hot modern graphics cards are supposed to run)The cards fan is still working though!!

I have never overclocked the card! and its only 2 months old.

Does any know why my card has decided to overheat?
Any help would be much appreciated!!

Sorry for the long post

·
Registered
209 Posts
get Everest Home Edition and go to sensor, check the temp readings on the card...

im not sure what the x800 would be at, but usually those cards can take some serious heat.
6600gt can run smooth up to 70C or so.
as for artifacts, it could be some glichy parts, bad driver install... or overheating, so tell us the temp and we will see

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Oldmn:How many fans and there location?
There is one fan on the case blowing air inwards

Compumaniac12:get Everest Home Edition and go to sensor, check the temp readings on the card...
The card idles at around 41-43 degrees and when i run a very graphically demanding game its around 51-54 degrees

·
Registered
2,171 Posts
If it's reading those temperatures right then those are good values. To see if it's really overheating I would run the machine with the case open and rig a desk fan to blow lots of air at the video card. That will cool it down a lot. If your artifacts go away then you have a heating problem.

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Okay, it seems that it is overheating!