Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, here goes my second post ever.

Using YaST, no wlan network card is available from the Suse 10 card selection will permit a wireless connection. I have an HP Pavilion, zd8000. Searching the web led me to conclude that i needed to use ndiswrapper. As a linux newbie, i knew not what i was doing, but eventually downloaded, unzipped it, and even read some of the documentation on the ndiswrapper.sourceforge website.

I believe i'm using kernel 2.6.13 -15 within the /lib/modules/ directory. Also, within the /lib/modules/2.6.13-15-smp directory is a link (/usr/src/linux/2.6.13-15-obj/i386/smp).

On a different linux forum, directions were to execute a 'make uninstall', then 'make'. I did the former until no "removing" messages appear. However, when i execute the latter i get the following (within directory /ndiswrapper-1.32):
make -C driver
make[1]: Entering directroy '/ndiswrapper-1.32/driver'
Cant find kernel build files in /lib/modules/2.6.13-15-smp/build;
give the path to kernel build directory with
KBUILD=<path> argument to make
make[1]: ***[prereq_check] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory ' /ndiswrapper-1.32/driver'
make: *** [all] Error 2

Can someone help?

signed,

clueless in San Antonio:4-dontkno

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I'm ndiswrapper challenged

I guess i should have stated that i'm a linux nu-bee (see, i cant even spell it correctly). Anyway, after much trial and error (several hours of aggravation) and reading the posts to evilamigo's post, i have the following to report:

ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf
forcing parameter IBSSGMode from 0 to 2
forcing parameter IBSSGMode from 0 to 2

ndiswrapper -l
bcmwl5 driver installed

ndiswrapper -m
module configuration already contains alias directive

modprobe ndiswrapper
FATAL could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.13-15-smp/extra/ndiswrapper.ko' : No such file or directory