Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When i play graphics intense games such as superpower 2, quake 4, the sims after a while it always freezes and the card is hot to the touch. The sound freezes also and a reboot is required. Should i try underclocking it with rivatuner to see if that helps or should i just jimmy rig a large case fan over it to help fan the heat, or could it be a non overheating related problem? :4-dontkno
 

·
TSF Emeritus
Joined
·
26,228 Posts
Hi, welcome to TFS

Run SensorsView to monitor your temperatures and PSU readings. Post back with 2 screenshots, one from when you first switch the computer on and another during 3D gameplay. This will show any problems with overheating or a weak power supply.

Have you overclocked the graphics card or CPU?

What are your full system specs including details from the PSU label?

How are your case fans positioned?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply!

i am running one fan /sinc over the CPU and one fan/sinc over the GPU. It has good ventalation as i have had the side open for quite some time.

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 12/28/2006, 20:43:41

Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: PCCHIPS
System Model: A21G
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Memory: 1024MB RAM
Page File: 233MB used, 5190MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 6600 GT
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00F1&SUBSYS_2011107D&REV_A2
Display Memory: 128.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.9371 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 10/22/2006 12:22:00, 4527488 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys
Mini VDD Date: 10/22/2006 12:22:00, 3994624 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-43B1-11CF-5657-1B0003C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x00F1
SubSys ID: 0x2011107D

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Realtek AC97 Audio
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3059&SUBSYS_AA011019&REV_60
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: ALCXWDM.SYS
Driver Version: 5.10.0000.5780 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 1/28/2005 04:48:58, 2310272 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.



------------------------
Disk & DVD/CD-ROM Drives
------------------------
Drive: C:
Free Space: 19.5 GB
Total Space: 78.2 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: Maxtor 6 L080M0 SCSI Disk Device

Drive: E:
Free Space: 11.6 GB
Total Space: 38.2 GB
File System: FAT32
Model: WDC WD400BB-32AUA1

Drive: F:
Model: PLEXTOR DVDR PX-712A
Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 5.01.2600.2180 (English), 8/3/2004 21:59:54, 49536 bytes

Drive: D:
Model: SONY CD-RW CRX140E
Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 5.01.2600.2180 (English), 8/3/2004 21:59:54, 49536 bytes

Drive: H:
Model: USB Flash Memory USB Device
Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 5.01.2600.2180 (English), 8/3/2004 21:59:54, 49536 bytes


POWER SUPPLY:

OKIA SWITCHING POWER SUPPLY
MODEL OKIA-450ATX (450 W MAX)

AC-I/P 115/230V~ 10/5A 60/50HZ
DC---...
O/P +3.3v +5v +12v -12v -5v +5VSB
28A 50A 18A 1.0A .8A 2.5A
 

Attachments

·
TSF Emeritus
Joined
·
26,228 Posts
Also, SensorsView isn't showing your +12V reading, which is the one we need to see as it affects your graphics card and hard drive. If there's a problem with this, it can lead to overheating, artifacts and crashes.

See if Everest can pick it up in Computer > Sensors.

You only have 18A on the +12V line. This is the minimum for a GeForce 6600, and may be too low when the system is under stress from gameplay.

Is the system overclocked at all? Is is set to AGP x8 or x4 in the BIOS?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Thanks for the replys, the system is not overclocked and i believe it is set to 8x but i will check that... im getting everest and will post some screens tommorow, in the mean time im going to try underclocking it and see if the games last longer or not.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top