Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a computer tech at my local computer shop, where we have been seeing numerous cases of the Windows XP Security 2012 virus.

I've been doing days and days of research for a 'proper' removal method so I do not lose the DHCP and ICS services; which result in the loss of internet connectivity.

I am currently sitting with a clone of the original hard drive(had to clone and reinstall the system; client was getting antsy), but we have an exact replicate of the system that I have been booting the clone on, removing the virus and losing either the DHCP service and/or the ICS(Windows Firewall) service then having to clone back the drive to try an alternate method.

The clone i am sitting with is a clone i made after i ran OTL(stupid on my side to clone after i removed some of the virus >.<) so i do not get the xp security 2012 prompts anymore, just have the infected files BUT i do STILL have connectivity; up until i remove these infected files.

I did need to run a exe.reg input before i can fully execute any .exe files since the virus attacks the .exe extension.

Methods I've tried:
1) Combofix - results in loss of connectivity
2) Malwarebytes - after removing infections results in loss of connectivity
3) OTL - OTL is my favored method thus far, it removes the prompts for XP Security 2012 but there are still left over files/drivers infected that TDS picks up however if you remove those infections with TDS you lose connectivity
4) TDS - results in loss of connectivity(when files are removed)
5) HiJackthis - turns up nothing that the hijackthis.de analyzer can determine a 'virus'

Is there a proper removal method for this virus? If so, is there any chance you guys can give me some insight as to how to go about removing it?