Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i am new at this, so bear with me lol :wave:

We have just moved our XP computer into the living room, and connected it to a 58kb dial-up connection. We installed AVG 8 and everything was running fine

Now we've installed Windows Live OneCare Family safety on the machine so we can monitor my borther and sisters internet usage.

Now, the computer runs extremely slowely, Windows Explorer continually crashes, meaning we have great difficulty opening My Documents, and My Computer or anything that requires Explorer to open

As well as this, now the internet is majorly slow... even for bloomin dial-up, we used to get at least 9kbps, but now its shot down to between 2.5 and 1.5 kbps

AVG is now continuously scanning... even outside of scheduled scans, and constantly wants to update :S

And finally, i have now noticed that small files i dont use very frequently have begun to dissapear from the system!!! music files, images, word docs etc.

We have tried defragging it, scandisk, using AdAware SE Personal 2005, AVG Scans, and they all come up with negligeable results.

As well as this, now the pc wont install files for Trend Micro Online scans to run... so we cant even work it out that way :S

I have a suspicion this could be something to do with OneCare, or Multiple Viruses in the system that have somehow hidden themselves from AVG

PLEASE PLEASE HELP!!!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrm... no lol
how do i do that?
as i said, i'm new and i have only made this post!!! do i need to download some stuff first? and if so, where from?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
OKay, the pc has gotten worse, applications aren't starting up properly on bootup i.e. AVG 8 and MSN OneCare arent loading in the icon tray!!!

·
Registered
108 Posts