Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A couple of weeks ago windows security centre started popping up messages saying "Your firewall status is unknown" and "Anti-virus might not be installed".

I have been running Zone alarm and AVG-free for several years now. I also run Spy-bot S&D. I suspected some kind of virus which these couldn't detect so I've installed and scanned with the following over the past couple of weeks:

Windows Defender
Kaspersky online scan
Panda antivirus
SpywareBlaster
AVG-anti root kit
Root kit revealer
Hijack this
F-secure internet security
StopZilla
AdAware
UnHackMe/Reanimator

Security centre didn't detect any of the antivirus programs.

With the help of the people at Greatis (reanimator) i've managed to remove a couple of problems but security centre still doesn't detect antivirus.

In the event log I've noticed a message which has been occuring since June:

The Windows Security Center Service was unable to establish event queries with WMI to monitor third party AntiVirus and Firewall.

But I haven't been able fix this. The WMI service and RPC service are both running and restarting them doesn't solve the problem.

Any ideas are what to do now would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I fixed the WMI security errors:

root/rsop and its two children had had the System and authenticated users removed. I added them back using wmimgmt.msc.

The WMI diagnostics check was telling me that the DCOM registrations were missing for OffProv, a WMI provider for MS office.

So i tracked it down and downloaded it from http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:nExxVmQq1PQJ:www.zjgps.com/download/lj/office2000/office2000/PFILES/COMMON/MSSHARED/MSINFO/+download+offprov&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=53&gl=uk

along with MSIOff9.ocx, which it depends on.