Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi:
I am a newbie on the computer forum and to computers in general. I have been running defrag on a weekly basis, but notice that it stops because a message said I have errors on my hard drive. So I run scandisk to fix the errors automatically. There are no bad sectors on my hard drive, but errors were found and fixed. Had a SirCam virus attack my computer, but I was able to eliminate it with the SirCam virus fix.
:confused:
What are errors? Scandisk is finding them weekly when I run scandisk.
What causes the errors, so maybe I can prevent them in the future?
Thanks for your responses and help.
Steven
Computer is original HP configuration except network card for AT&T cable modem, 2 gig slave hard drive, scanner and palm pilot

HP Pavilion 4440
AMD 333mhz
256 Mb Ram
Win 98 Version 2
AT&T cable modem
4.3 gig hard drive
McAfee virus scan updated weekly, if possible.
Only original HP softwares and my company softwares placed by company IT techs.

· Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks thedeuce75 & doonz

thedeuce75 and doonz:
Thanks for our responses.
I do not know what type of hard drive I have, but it can originally in the HP Pavilion 4440.
:confused:
Being a newbie, how do you run safe recovery?
Also I will check out the ontrack.com site.
Thanks again.
Steven.

· Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thedeuce75

Thedeuce75:
I ran a new thread with the following information. Your advice is needed on either this thread or the new one.
I have a:
HP Pavilion 4440
4.3 gig hard drive (unknown make and model)
1.0 gig slave hard drive (unknown make and model)
win 98 version 2
256 Mb ram
AT&T cable modem
I want to combine both hard drives into one 20 gig hard drive. I can't get rid of my 4.3 gig because is has all of the company's software and data.
Need your advice on:
Which brand to purchase?