Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In hindsight, I wish I had configured RAID striping on my new system for better performance. I'd really like to do this on the Intel controller, but I've already formatted a SATA drive and have everything on it I want.

I understand that setting up a RAID configuration will wipe the data off the drives I'm configuring. Is it possible for me to get another matching drive, configure it and my other blank drive as RAID, then format the array by copying my formatted SATA drive to it from my Promise SATA port? I believe I'd have to uninstall the Intel EB controller off the existing format since the controller would show up as ER on the RAID array.

Any thoughts? Should I not be lazy and simply start over from scratch? Any tips for formatting a RAID array to make the best use of it? (Such as separate partitions for swap file, etc.) I've never used RAID before, but the more I read about it, the better it looks. My system specs are in my sig.

·
Guru
1,315 Posts
I think that there is a way to convert. You do need to have the RAID edition of the IAA installed.

Check the Intel Application Accelerator RAID Edition- User's Manual chapter 18 for migration instructions. If I read it right, according to chapter 5 you will not need to reinstall XP.

After all the BIOS setup and IAA installations, you will run the IAA, click the RAID tab, right-click on RAID Volumes, and from the menu choose the "Create From Existing Disk" option. After that it looks pretty straightforward.

BTW I had read in chapter 5 that all sorts of protection is in place for if the migration gets interrupted, such that you won't lose data. Yet still it seems there are some severe warning boxes that will pop up which you will need to accept. Thay also warn you in the text to back up your data before the migration... I have no suggestions there, do whatever you feel appropriate.