Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently installed Linux (Mandrake 8.0) on my system and the video in X Windows is not working properly, I'm getting "phantom" images of windows closed down and the screen just doesn't appear right

I have a GeForce 3 Ti 200 video card

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no I'm not and thats what I suspect is my problem, I'm a complete newbie to Linux but I have been trying to figure out how to install the drivers

·
Registered
711 Posts
The most recent drivers from NVidia had serious issues. You'll want to visit NVidia's website and get the latest though, just for testing purposes. If you're using Mandrake, you'll want the Uniprocessor i686 version, there's 2 files, the GLX and the Kernel files, they're standard rpm's and there is also install instructions on Nvidia's webpage, give those a shot and if you need further help let us know :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sure thing, when my thumbs heal up I'll re-do the power connectors to my moble rack and play around with Linux some more heh, these things are like pit bulls they don't wanna let go!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
ok other then my previous post,... I'm downloading Mandrake 9 atm,... and there are three diffrent drivers for linux on the Nvidia site,... Ia32 Ia64 I think AMD64 how do I know which one to download?

·
Registered
711 Posts
Well hammer aka AMD64 isn't out yet that I can remember, and if you're using IA64 I'd bow to you :p j/k ... you'll want the IA32 drivers :)

·
Registered
529 Posts