Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's what's going on...

I've been using a rig, which has been working perfectly until Sun shortly after I started playing Dragon Age that day. I've been playing Dragon Age for the previous week without issue.

The problem is also reproduceable playing other higher end games that seem to stress the rig. I've run 3 clients of Eve simultaneously and as soon as I hit the mark of 70c for my GPU I get the below mentioned issue.

I've been able to play many high end games on this setup without issue, most at max settings and never had a problem until this started.

When I get the crash I get massive pixelation on the screen, odd sound though my head phones and a complete lock-up that I cannot Crtl-Alt-Del out of, I cannot alt-tab out of the program, I lose mouse control and TS etc.. complete freeze. I then have to hard boot etc.

I have taken apart the tower, blown out the cards etc...Being a normal clean freak and a regular cleaner, the tower, cards and internal surfaces are all looking good, no dust build ups etc. All cords seem well and securely connected.

After a bit of testing [I'm running a temp monitor - cpuid] It seems that every time my GPU core gets to the 70c range I'm due to crash.

Hardware and Software specs are:

This is off an Alienware Area 51-7500 R5 from 05/08

Win 7 64bit Home Premium - installed 2 weeks ago, full new install - worked cleanly and had no issues.
680i SLi Mobo
Intel E8400 cpu 3.0/1333 6m 2c processor
nvidia geforce 8800gt 512mb pci-e gpu - running latest nvidia drivers.
4x 1gb DDR2 PC2-6400 RAM
Seagate SATA 500GB 3g 7200rpm 16mb cache hard drive
750 watt oem psu

I've also tested voltages using cpuid:

Cpu vcore is at 1.09 running between 1.08 and 1.18
+12v is at 10.37, no fluctuation but shows 12.03v when I check the bios
AVCC 3.25v
+3.3v 3.25
VIN1 1.18
+5v 4.68 [4.66-4.68]
VIN3 1.82