Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
XMMS cant seem to find my mp3's. When i try to Play File, it sees /mnt/hda7 but there's nothing in it. It looks like a clean directory when, in fact, it has my files..am I missing something..? o_O (Yes, I am a Linux newbie >:) ) btw, Im using Feather 7.5 and hda7 is an NTFS partition.

Thanks! =)

·
Registered
590 Posts
question 1. did you actually mount the drive [mount -t /mnt/hda7]
question 2. Are they actually mp3 (just asking maybe they are .wma)
question 3. what filesystem is the drive

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
1. yup =) but just to make sure, i typed that command again in a console box
2. *boot back to WinXP* right-click > Properties : mp3
3. hda7 is on NTFS

here are other things i tried: (just now XD )
a. go to /mnt/hda7 > ls / dir command > nothing
b. open /mnt/hda7 through XMMS > tried to create a test folder > said "Error creating directory. Permission denied" > opened console again - chmod 777 /mnt/hda7 > was finally able to create test folder

-- here's the funny thing 'though..i booted back into Windows and checked Drive G: ( which is = /mnt/hda7 ), the test folder isnt showing there. i know im doing something wrong or missing a trivial piece...Argh! T_T

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Tried playing with it again. :D now it's saying /mnt/hda7 is not a block device; tried googling for the error message and most of what i got are references pointing to header files >_<

here's my command, btw :
mount -t ntfs /mnt/hda7 /mnt/test

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
LOL got it! :XD i got the syntax all wrong..st00pid me ROFLMAO i should've used

mount -t ntfs /dev/hda7 /mnt/test instead...sorry if my post wasnt clear enough >_< Thanks a bunch! :)

·
TSF Team Emeritus
837 Posts