Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I am brand new to this sight and am in need of help.

Built new box yesterday. BIOS is recognizing all drives. Put Win XP pro in DVD-R and am told to reboot and select proper boot device. Have been through BIOS, can't understand why this happening. It's so frustrating to stall this far along in the build.

Please help

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I tried multiple combinations of boot orders and nothing seems to work. More specifics: I have 2 Pioneer dvr-111d installed on primary IDE, I left both with factory jumper settings. Two HDD installed vis SATA II bus. BIOS seems to recognize only one of the DVRs as Primary IDE master, the the hard drives are 3rd and 4th IDE decices. Doesn't seem to differentiate the two dvrs.

·
Registered
428 Posts
Did you try the disk in both ROM drives? It sounds like only one is being detected. Check and make sure the jumpers are correct, or if you have a cable select type cable. An easy way to tell is if the ribbon is labelled "Master - Slave - System Board" or something similar

BIOS boot order should be 1st device pointing at your ROM drive(s)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I did try the disc in both DVRs. I have them connected with the 80 pin IDE cable, one plugges into the master connector and the second into the slave connector on the cable, with the cable itself plugged into the primary IDE on the motherboard. I am hesitant to mess around with the jumpers because while the documentation explains which pin does what, it does not tell which physical pin is which, so I'm not sure what to do.

·
Registered
428 Posts