Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi: I am a newbie to this forum and computer operations, and my company "computer tech" does not understand my problems. Any help from the forum experts are greatly appreciated.
I have:
H/P Pavilion 4440 Pentium 333
256K ram
4 Gig hard drive (still have 2.0 gig free space remaining)
AT&T cable modem and internet service
System tray has open: McAfee Virus Scan, Volume, Task scheduler, Ram booster, flat bed scanner utilities, palm pilot sychro. icon

My computer has a few problems which I need help on.
1. The system resources starts at 79% then drops to below 60% after opening of a couple of websites, after closing those websites, the system resources remains below 60%. How do I increase the system resouces.
2. My ram booster informs me that my CPU-usage is consistantly 70% or higher and the available rams drops below 30% quite frequently requiring me to optimize the ram booster to free up the ram, otherwise it will drop to 3% (alarm level)
3. Use to get a lot of blue screen (error messages) until after increasing my ram from 128K to 256K. Now it is much better.
The entire system just seems slow then when the computer was new, that is because of all the junk I have placed on the computer. Blue screens has been solved.
:confused:
How do I increase the system resources?
Why is my CPU-usage 70% or higher even when all of the websites and open applications has been closed?
Why does my ram constantly drop below 3%? (I only have outlook express, yahoo website opened, everything else is closed)
Thank you for your help and information.
Steven.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ram information

Hi Valiant:
Running Windows 98
According to my ram booster:
CPU -usage 83%
Free Ram at the moment 90672 Kb
Target level of free RAM 129 Mb
Alarm level 63 Mb