Tech Support banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a newbie to this forum but not as much to XP or linux.

Before I put some kind of deepfreeze, my XP used to be hacked a lot, scrambling screen settings and then on the usenet forums I went to, with sarcastic posts. Thus, I suspect it is the spooks. There are racist groups and corporations who have sadistic people targeting others in their maddog madness.

After the deepfreeze, this stopped considerably because boot would restore everything. I also adopted a protocol of dd ing the small partition of the OS and separated it from data in a thaw partition. Their cost-benefit ratio was too poor. I could dd very fast or reboot and even after BSOD, things started out not that bad.

As soon as this pandemic started, my XP's frequency of crash went down a lot. The way it fails is that after about 2 months, the sound stops and I cannot hear sound. I suspect the driver is uninstalled. Yesterday night, there was some attack on some backdoors inside Intel CPU as the screen went black a few times and then it came back, no BSOD. It has also improved since I put Solid-State disk for the OS rather than magnetic as there were too many recursive calls in that one from the moving of the head when an older non-noise cancelling HD was used.

So, I have done diagnostics. on this XP Service Pack 3.

Control Panel > Sound and Audio Device Properties > Sound Hardware Test Wizard >
Your Sound Hardware Cannot Play Sounds.

What can I do to avoid booting if I can install the driver somehow?

·
Registered
40,971 Posts
As you know, XP is no longer supported by Microsoft. Many Browsers will not work in XP now, I am surprised you can get online at all! If your computer is getting hacked a lot, that should be enough for you to dump XP or stay offline with it.
As for your audio, What is the make and model# of your computer or Motherboard?