Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Though I'm a tech, I've never had the opportunity to work with, and learn the basics of, networking. In that regard, I'm a total noob. Please bear with me. I Googled the Net for an answer but didn't find a solution because my situation is rather unorthodox. So I need your help. Here's my situation:

I live in a house that has AT&T U-verse. My pc is a couple of rooms away from the U-verse router so I pick up my Internet signal via a Netgear WG111v2 USB wireless adapter. Works great. But I have a couple of "new" Palm Pre handhelds with sync software that requires a wireless connection (won't do USB). Fortunately, I had a Netgear WGR614 v4 54 Mbps Wireless Router in storage. (I used it years ago so it had already been configured but back then it was wired directly to an AT&T router with a patch cable to my roommate's pc and to my pc wirelessly.)

So not knowing what to do, I just powered it up, plugged a patch cable into my pc's NIC and plugged the other end into the WAN port. Voila! I had connectivity to my Palm Pre's. All was well for about 15 minutes when all of a sudden my pc lost connection (wirelessly) to the U-verse router. And though the Netgear Smart Wizard showed a strong signal from the Netgear WGR614 Wireless Router and the Palm's were picking up a strong signal from it, they couldn't "surf" the Net. I guess WinXP (being PnP) decided to adjust things causing everything to stop working. (Just a guess.)