Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
[SOLVED] "No Drive attached to fasttrack controller, the BIOS is not installed"

I got to this site by googling the phrase, "No Drive attached to fasttrack controller, the BIOS is not installed" which is what I'm seeing when I start my first build:

Asus A8V Deluxe
AMD 3000+ 64
Seagate Barracuda 250 Sata Hard Drive

The first time I started it up, I was able to get to the BIOS page. But I noticed something about making a backup floppy, so I decided to shut down and take the floppy drive from one of my old desktops. After connecting all that, I started the computer again and could no longer get to the BIOS. It'd just try to detect IDE and then give me that message above and then ask for me to reboot using the proper drive or something like that. Is the mobo dead or is it my hard drive? Any help? :sad: This is my first build, and being a girl, I'm not really familiar with this stuff...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
nevermind. i read the sticky announcement and tried it again. it turned out my keyboard wasn't in right so i wasnt taken to the bios.. :rolleyes:

this may seem like such a futile question, but i don't want to have to buy an operating system disk. i remember reading somewhere that you can simply make one using a current computer, but i can't seem to find how to do that.. can someone tell me?

·
Registered
141 Posts
You can make a bootable floppy but that is really only for those times when something goes wrong. Its not designed to replace the operating system disk. Why would you not want to buy one? It will make life much easier. :smile:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Windows XP installation