Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I've bought a GA-965P-DS4 from Gigabyte and i've had a problem finding the correct driver to put on a floppy disk in order for the operating system to recognise the HDD.

It's windows xp 32 bit home edition
the HDD is a 500GB seagate, which i'd like NOT to run in raid mode.

It's my first time at building my own PC, and im anoyed that i've come all this way only to be stuck by a driver.

I have to rant here because im so angry at gigabyte, they've thrown pictures at me, loads of numbers, and lots of cool features. But never told me once i'd need a floppy drive to install a driver. They didnt even supply a floppy disk with it on. Whats more is that: they suggest that you copy the correct driver from the disk supplied to the floppy drive. Did they know that the consumer would need Windows 98's MSDOS with CD support to do so?

The manual is definately translated from Tiawanese as well. no doubt.

Its probably natural where i am stuck: yes. But no support at all? i've had to come to a forum for hope? Never again. Last time i buy a gigabyte product.

any help will be great thanks. sorry about the rant.

Mart

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Re: Pre-installation winXP home edition, HDD driver needed

I've seen that page and done it that way before.

Im installing windows xp, and its the F6 stage i get to where you press 'S' key and it looks at the floppy drive, press enter and it says an error.

Im at work at the moment, its a pretty common error.

The driver i need is on the CD yes, but you need windows 98 MSDOS with cd support to extract the driver from the CD and onto floppy.

There is another way, using another computer, it says to doubleclick a file named 'menu.exe' on the disk, which then opens command promt, and pops up an error (prolly cause it doesnt want you to open it: it'll mess with the PC)