Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

Im currently working on a pc that is giving me a bit of a hassel, let me explaine the senorio:

Pc was working fine and all of a sudden the screen went black, i then restarted the pc considering that was my only option. I have some experience with computers, so i opened it up and replaced the Graphics card with a new one - PC boots up, POST is visible but once entering into few xp's desktop screen goes black, no beeps & all harware seems to be working.

I then replaced the PSU with a spare and same problem.
Replaced the RAM module and same problem.
Tested the Monitor & is working.
I have the motherboard outside the pc with new RAM, new PSU, new Graphics Card & original HDD connected but just wont boot into windows with normal display...?!

The Motherboard is an early p4 : ASUS P4V533-MX
RAM : 512MB PC400 New
PSU : Procase 300W New
AGP : ATI Radeon 9550GE
CPU : 2.4GB Cel Socket 478

Oh and i've did the whole trial & error with the onboard display - same prob.

Im thinking bout maybe putting a new Hard Drive on and reformating it, loading xp and retesting old parts?!

·
Registered
6,641 Posts
Re: Hardware or Software issue?

Hi Sublime and welcome to TSF !

Have you tried safe mode or last known good configuration ? Repeatedly press F8 while windows starts.

If safe mode doesn't work with the dedicated video card then unplug the radeon 9550, reset the CMOS, enter the BIOS to check that the video is set to use the onboard GPU and try to get within Windows in safe mode with the onboard video.

Enter the BIOS at startup and tell us about the temps, fan speeds and voltages you'll see in the hardware monitor or pc health status screen (if there's such a screen).

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·