Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I'm new to begging for help with my computer on web forums, so please forgive me if I make a muck of it. I'll start from the beginning:

I noticed a few days ago that Explorer wouldn't do anything for me. Typing in the address bar produced some message which I don't recall and no action, and I couldn't put any text in my google home page. No big problem until I needed to open a page which wouldn't work in Firefox and the explorer tab was out of service. So I tried to find a solution online.

Either at this point, or after my next action, I installed Explorer 7, which from what I've been able to figure out has something to do with my present difficulties.

Someone somewhere said to disable or enable something in user accounts, but clicking on user accounts resulted in .... absolutely nothing - nothing opened, no message, nothing. So I tried to find a solution online.

I went to http://support.microsoft.com/kb/919292 and followed these instructions:

To resolve this behavior, use the regsvr32 command to register the .dll files. To do this, follow these steps:

1. Click Start, click Run, type cmd, and then click OK.

2. At the command prompt, type the following commands, press ENTER after each command, and then click OK when a message says that the registration is successful:

• Regsvr32 jscript.dll
• Regsvr32 nusrmgr.cpl
• Regsvr32 /i mshtml.dll
• Regsvr32 themeui.dll
• Regsvr32 Vbscript.dll

3. Make sure that you can open the User Accounts item in Control Panel.

Now, while (thank the powers that be) I am able to use Firefox, Wordperfect and KMPlayer, I am unable to do several things. If I try to use Help and Support, or System Restore, or Explorer, I get:

ordinal 13 could not be located in the dynamic link library iertutil.dll.