Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Im setting up my friend's server for his new company. It's going to be a small company probably 4-5 clients running off a Windows 2000 server. I'm fairly new to all the different software out there, and Im having a difficult time choosing what type of software I should be running. I recently just graduated, and I feel this is a great opportunity to gain some experience in the industry. I was wondering if you could give me some insight on which software would be sufficient to run.

*Firewall Software - ZoneAlarm, Black Ice, InoculateIT, etc...??
*Antivirus Software - Norton, McAfee, etc...??
*Management Software - Novell(Not really sure If I need this), Trying to figure out if Win 2000 server has something like Novell already??, etc...?

If there is anything I left out that you think would probably help me please feel free to add it in.

Thank you very much. I really appreciate it,
Olimits7

·
STILL Stuck in a treestand....
929 Posts
First of all what are you looking to acheive with this network as far as performance, will he be handling financial data for his company, how cirtical is the data that needs to be protected, what type of connection to the internet will he have meaning will it be connected by dial up, cable modem, DSL, and will it be connected on an as needed policy or will it be connected 24 hrs a day? Theres alot you need to consider and it's not something to take likely. Give me some more insite and I'll see what I can do to help. Also how are you going to be setting up user accounts?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3