Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

For the past six months or so my computer has been making my life a living hell. I am a student and use my computer almost nightly and depend on it quite a bit. The first thing I should say is that I live in a pretty old neighborhood, thus we have pretty old wiring in our house, and if there is any kind of storm, our power will suddenly go out. Having said that...about six months ago my hard drive (WD 80g 7200rpm) began acting strangely. I began hearing numerous clicking noises from it, and it would randomly cause the computer to freeze for short periods of time. Then if I ran a large program (such as a game) the hard drive would click like mad and the computer would just reboot. Sooner or later it just started randomly rebooting, and eventually the fatal day arrived when I saw "Insert Boot Disk or Disk Media." I assumed I had just experienced my hard drive dying, but it seemed odd that it happened after under one year of use. Luckily it was under warranty and a replacement was on the way.

After awhile the replacement drive finally arrived (exact same drive, same stats). I enjoyed its use for about four days. A storm hit a few nights ago, and sure enough, the power went out. I let the computer sit for a long time before booting up again, but as soon as I did, the strange symptoms of the previous drive began again (the new drive had been fine up to this point). Clicking noises, random freezing, and eventually I was unable to boot up. Now I know that the power going out is bad for the computer, but doesn't it seem a little odd that one power loss could destroy a brand new hard drive? Is there anything I can do about this?

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
Welcome to the TechSupportForums apb1215