Tech Support banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, so i've found myself on this forum as a newbie. I have some basic electronics experience and can get my way round with some wiring but really getting into the smart/automation tech - whatever you want to call it :D

I've picked up some parts over the few months with various other projects including some sonoff controllers, an echo dot, some lights and some smart plugs.

Anyway, I digress. If anyone has any cool projects for beginners and have any ideas they could send over that would be much appreciated.

I'm always interested in finding out how its made your daily life easier too (if it has)!

Thanks in advance, and apologies if this is posted in the wrong area - please let me know as i'm new and still trying to get to grips with it :p

·
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
28,952 Posts
Motion sensing outside lighting is a good project.

Reactions: Bobbled

·
Premium Member
19,805 Posts
you can to to amazon and do a search for "works with alexa" and it will show everything they sell that works. It should give you some ideals. You can also go to cnet and they have a whole section on smarthome products and even have a tour of a smart home they fixed up. CNET Smart House

The following is what I have and do. Maybe it will also give you some ideas for projects.

My small apartment is basically run by alexa, at least as far as my landlord with let me get away with. All lights, tvs, computers can be turned on/off with alexa. I have smart security cams and doorbell that can be viewed on the alexa show on command. I have an alexa instant pot, alexa smart oven/microwave, alexa smart frames (glasses) and echobuds. Also use a smart thermostat.

The smart oven replaced both the microwave and toaster oven. I cannot live without it now. Just have to remember that when using the oven, not to remove food bare handed like I do when using the microwave.