Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been dubbed the IT Manager at my school (I'm a teacher). The only reason I've been given this honor is the fact I'm pretty much the only one in our school that knows that software isn't a reference to a clothing line. We have a brand new school with a brand new network infrastructure. I've installed server 2003 on our new server (P4 with two 2.5 Gig CPUs, 1 gig of ram and 200 gig of storage). I've been able to set up a domain controller, the file server, and users. All the computers connected to the domain are running XP pro. (I do have some win 98 SE machines but from what I understand they can't join the domain; I'm just using the same WORKGROUP name so they can see the server). Here's my problem - the Logon is EXTREMELY slow. It takes a good 5 to 6 minutes for the machines to logon to the server. At first I thought it would only the this the first time I logged on for each machine, but it's the same thing every time. I've tried enabling the Always wait for the network at computer startup and logon in gp. Right now I've got teachers logging on to the desktop computer, but would rather have them logon to the server so I can set up individual files etc. using a script so they don't have to get into the mynetworks tree. ANY HELP OUT THERE?!

·
Citizen of the world
51,042 Posts
Well, there is no reason you can't logon to your domain with the W98 machines, that one was easy to dispense with. :smile:

Have you checked the event log for the slow computers to see if you're getting any errors? How about any error messages at the server?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3