Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time to this site, and I'll appreciate any help! A couple of weeks ago my laptop was bogging more every day. Looking at Windows Task Manager, I noted that AVG was taking a large percentage of CPU time. At the same time, I had trouble opening Internet Explorer. I live and die by my computer and the internet, so I really needed to get this fixed!

A computer-savvy friend, as well as our ISP support guy thought I had a virus that had corrupted. So I uninstalled AVG (which really helped the computer run better, albiet hazardously), then downloaded and reinstalled it. I ran a virus scan, which detected and deleted a serious virus. All was well with the world. Until the next day.

The same symptoms recurred. So after searching the internet for a solution, I again uninstalled AVG and installed MS Security Essentials. I also uninstalled a malaware program. The computer ran well, but the same symptoms arose the next day. When the computer slows and hits the disk frequently, MsMpEng.exe is taking quite a bit of CPU time: anywhere from 15% to over 50%. This morning after starting the computer, it ran at reasonable speeds for a few minutes, then MsMpEng began taking over and the symptoms recurred: high CPU usage, heavy disk usage, and trouble using Internet Explorer. However, after running for a couple of hours, it is back to reasonable run times.

I'll eagerly await your help. I've seen great, helpful advice from wonderful people, which is why I signed up for TSF. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
9 Posts