Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I have a buddies laptop -- Toshiba S855-S5377 -- he had issues with the screen not coming up after the Windows 8 splash screen. So he brought it to me yada yada yada. I tried to restore everything and kept getting the same results.

Now, I used the Toshiba software to reformat the disk and installed a fresh version of Windows 8 (since it was doing it on the restore from Toshiba and he didn't have any backups) and the same thing.

I'm a college student with a Dreamspark account so I went on there and figured I would try it with a brand new copy of Windows 8.1, same thing.

On a fresh copy of Windows, the screen will come on let you log in and maybe after 1-5 minutes (guesstimating) the issue comes back. It lets me log onto the system through safe mode, however.

So I realize this is perhaps a driver issue perhaps?

Could someone give me something to try, I've done it all. I've even uninstalled the driver, it lets me go back into the regular mode and after a minute or so a sound chimes then goes back to black with no mouse.

Help?

Thanks.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I hooked it up via hdmi to my tv and in safe mode (since normal isn't working right now obviously) and nothing was on the tv but there was regular use of safe mode.

·
Decessit
68,880 Posts
Safe mode only loads minimal drivers so a basic graphics driver not necessarily the one for the graphics chip. so it looks like the driver could be a problem did the correct driver get installed as I think there is more than one.

·
Global Moderator
Using Google to solve problems
43,123 Posts