Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just installed a raid array with 2 200gb sata drives.
in xp however i get the green arrow in the taskbar as if i had an external usb drive plugged in....when i click on the arrow to 'safely remove hardware' sure enough, my 2 sata drives are listed.

i have never done a raid setup before.... is this normal?

chaintech 7NJL6 (nforce2 raid)
amd xp 3000+
2 sata 200gb drives in raid 0 (as primary boot drive,with xp installed)
1 ide 120gb

·
Registered
4 Posts
Sorry to see you never got an answer here, because I have the same mobo, and the same problem with 2 400gb SATA drives.

It's definitely a hardware issue, because I get the same result with a Knoppix live CD. Instead of showing one 744gb sata drive, it shows me two removable 372gb drives. Even though during bootup, the mobo shows a 744gb RAID.

Anyone have an idea what the problem is?

Thanks...

P

·
0 Posts
I once bypassed this problem by flashing the bios. give it a try if it doesnt work we will open up the black book of tweaks :))))

·
Registered
4 Posts
Well, seems it's a software issue after all. Or at least a driver issue.

I installed Windows XP and just like m.d., XP saw two removable drives.

On a complete whim, I got out the Seagate Discwizard CD that came with the drives and ran it from within Windows. It detected a 745gb RAID array that needed "to be prepared for use with Windows." I told it to add the array as "additional storage" and voila... "My computer" now sees a 745gb drive.

There are STILL 2 "removable drives" showing in the "safely remove hardware" icon in the system tray, but at least I can access the array now. Anyone know how I can hide that "safely remove hardware" icon so people can't click it?