Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
100% Cpu

I've been messing with this problem for quite
some time now and it has me stumped.

specs
htt 3.5ghz p4 1024mb ddr
Windows 2000 pro

After formatting and installing windows 2000
when ever i get to windows (after login) my
first "cpu" is always at 100% usage no matter
what i do, but my second "cpu" runs like
normal. Killing all services and programs
that arnt critical to the system has no
effect on performance. :4-dontkno The only process that
is using cpu time is system idle process
which cant be the problem..cant it?

any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks.
 

·
retired
Joined
·
1,966 Posts
Download Everest (see link below) and install it. Select the Computer icon, then Summary to list the details about your computer. Post the information about the following...
Motherboard:
CPU Type
Motherboard Name

Note: if you right click Summary | Quick Report | Plain Text then you can cut/paste the data.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited by Moderator)
Here is the report you asked for.

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 4
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4, 3400 MHz (17 x 200)
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset ATI Radeon 9100 Pro IGP
System Memory 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type AMI (07/14/04)

Motherboard 63-0100-000001-00101111-071404-RS350$1AAAA000_P4RC350-4AA1
Motherboard DMIMOBO: To be filled by O.E.M. To be filled by O.E.M.
Motherboard DMISYS: To Be Filled By O.E.M. To Be Filled By O.E.M.
Motherboard Unknown


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
i hope that helps. I belive my motherboard is a Soyo P4RC350 but dont quote
me on that.
 

·
retired
Joined
·
1,966 Posts
Open Device Manager then double click the Computer branch.

Which of the following is the listed...
ACPI Multiprocessor PC
ACPI Uniprocessor PC
Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC
MPS Multiprocessor PC
MPS Uniprocessor PC
Standard PC

(Note: don't make any change to this driver as it may make the system unstable or inoperable, there is a specific method that must be followed to change these drivers.)

------------------------------------------------
SY-P4RC350 (Prescott-Ready)

Intel® Processor Identification Utility for Windows 2000
 

·
retired
Joined
·
1,966 Posts
Though W2k can use virtual cpu's (htt), it's main advantage is for applications written to use htt.
You might want to use Task Manager's affinity settings to distribute/balance the load with the '2nd cpu'.

The manual for this board doesn't have bios details so I can't be of much help there. There is a bios update available but there's no details on what the update covers other than 'update supporting Intel Pentium 4 Prescott CPU', though I seem to recall something about it being updated for compatability to XPSP2.

It's possible the update might correct the performance ratio, but I wouldn't count on it. If you do a bios update then do a w2k upgrade install as well.

BIOS Upgrade for SY-P4RC350 (Prescott-Ready)
http://www.soyousa.com/downloads/se...=&col1=Proc_Intel+Pentium+4&col2=295&col3=All
AMI BIOS update supporting Intel Pentium 4 Prescott CPU
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Sorta a dumb question but how do i boot to dos in windows 2000?
i need to boot to dos to install the bios update.
 

·
retired
Joined
·
1,966 Posts
You can't boot to dos in windows 2000 because W2k isn't a dos based OS, (it's winNT).
You need to use another media that has dos startup, typically a floppy disk.

You can make a dos start disk, goto bootdisk (see link below) and download file Windows 98 Custom, No Ramdrive (boot98c.exe) to your desktop.

1. Put a good disk in floppy drive and click the boot98c.exe icon, it will make a startup disk.

2. Next, click start | run | type command and press Enter.
At command prompt type:
A:
A:>del *.* {note: verify you are here before using delete command}
(answer y for yes)
A:>exit

Note: see dos1 picture.

3. Now click the bios update file (c3504aa1.exe) and unpack to A:\

4. click start | run | type command and press Enter.
At command prompt type:
A:
A:>chkdsk
A:>exit

make sure chkdsk reports that it found no problem, otherwise dispose of disk and start again.

Note: see dos2 picture for chkdsk. dos3 shows Windows Explorer view of floppy A drive content.

5. Put another disk in floppy drive and use Windows Explorer to format it, use this blank floppy to save the old bios while doing flash update.

You now have 2 floppy disks prepared for flashing the bios, boot with the dos start disk, then type update and use the flash menu to save and flash bios.

I suggest you first go to bios setup and note the current settings, particularily ACPI and Plug-n-play, as you may have to reset these values after flashing bios and BEFORE starting up windows.

Please familiarize yourself with the flash process before continuing.

Flashing your BIOS
http://www.pctechguide.com/tutorials/BIOS_Flash.htm
Configuring your new BIOS
http://www.pctechguide.com/tutorials/BIOS_Config.htm
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
The only way a nerd such as myself can sum you in one word would be to
say you own but frankly that isnt enough...

btw that update fixed it...

I love u man! :cry:
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top