Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I run Win XP on a Dell Dimesnion 8200 and have Norton Internet Security running.
A.
I have 2 zip drives (different makes) that I have been using for several months and which both stopped working. When I plug them into a USB port "nothing" happens.
1. When I go to My Computer nothing is shown
2. When I go to Admin Tools>Computer Mgt>Disk Mgt not drive is shown (they are normally designated as "F")
Both zip drivs cam with their own installed software which installed when first used.
Other devices (camera, i Pod Nanno) work OK when connected to the same ports
B
Worst Case Scenario -If somehow the two drives have become simultaneously corrupted is there a way to force them to be recognized by the computer so that they can be reformatted and thereby salvaged eveme though the data is lost?
Thanks in advance for any assistance you can give me!

· Registered
1,248 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forums! Anything USB is PnP with the exception of legacy devices. It would indeed be helpful to know if the 2 ZIP drives work in another machine. Also, with them plugged in, do they show up in device manager? If so, uninstall them and unplug/plug them in again.

-Eddie

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
USB drives don't work

Doe the 2 USB sticks work in other computers???
Are they Plug and Play enabled?
The drives work OK in another computer. It appears that the USB ports (2) in the side of my flat screen, where I normally plug the drives in, have stopped working. I have checked all of the wiring and all connections appear to be secure. Any SUgggestions - sorry for the tardy reply. I've been away on business.

· Registered
88 Posts
USB Mp3 player doesn't work for WinXP

Hey everyone, I've got a weird problem here.