Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm Jay, and I am trying to get Remote Desktop working after seeing it used once. It seems pretty cool, and really, really useful when I thought about it, but I'm having trouble sorting it out. I'm not an expert with computers but I am trying...

Anyway, here's my situation;

I have a desktop computer at home - Windows XP Professional SP2, as part of a LAN.

I have looked at Microsoft's configuration steps - but it is still unclear.

This is what I have done:

- As Administrator, My Computer > Properties > 'Remote' tab > ticked 'Allow users to connect remotely to this computer'

Next, I clicked on 'Select Remote Users', and in the dialog box is an empty box, but underneath is says 'Jay already has access', so I haven't done anything extra.

That's all I have done so far. I tried connected to my PC from an old laptop that I still have from the same room. But it didn't work. In the 'Computer' textbox area of Remote Desktop Connection I typed my computer name, which is 'Optiplex', and clicked Connect, and I got the following message:

"The specified remote computer could not be found. Verify that you have typed the correct computer name or IP address, and then try connnecting again."

Now, I'm sure I'm probably doing something wrong, or missing something out completely... can anyone give me any tips or advice?

Thanks,

Jay

P.S. Sorry for the long post.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Norton is installed on both machines, or are you talking about Windows Firewall?

from Control Panel > Security Center > Windows Firewall - is turned on, with 'Don't Allow Exceptions' checked. Should I turn Windows Firewall off and try it?

Sorry!! I am a novice with computers!!

·
Registered
154 Posts
Yes, "Don't allow exceptions" means that NOTHING, and I do mean NOTHING, will be allowed through.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #5