Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not great at tech but ill give this a shot. lets start from the beginning. I have an HP Compaq Nc6220, 60gig seagate hard drive, 2 gigs ram. I was running XP pro with sp3. Those are the tech specs and as much as i know about it, if you need any more info and can tell me how to check it i can try. I was surfing one night on worldofwarcraft.com just reading forums and trying to pick up tips cause im a total noob at that too. and somehow i got a virus that kept prompting me to install fake antivirus software. i know it was fake cause i googled the name of it and google said so lol it somehow got in and was bringing iup fake windows warning balloons in the bottom right coprner next to the time display prompting me to purchase the software from a site. It refused to go away and mcafee couldn't remove it. I tried and tried and then it seemed like malwarebytes finally got it out. then no more than a day later im surfing on yahoo reading news and talking to a friend on facebook and i get a flashing blue screen and my computer would just restart over and over. I could get to where i could choose between mine and my wifes user account. I would enter in the password and my computer would just blue screen so fast i couldnt read what it said and then restart. It just did that over and over and over. I asked around and someone suggested doing a reinstall of windows. I have a reinstall CD that says it has xp ro with sp2 on it. I have tried multiple times to install it. i always choose the C: drive and it formats and copies files and it looks like its going to work untilk it gets to the point where it reboots itself then i get the error that "the following file is missing or corrupt \WINDOWS\inf\biosinfo.inf" then it says to repair choose "r" at the installation screen, which i do then it takes me into a screen i have no idea what to do in. I have trie