Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I'm a noob, njub, n00b, newblet, newb, noobie, newbie, nub, an amateur.
Anyways there's somebody selling some old computers for cheap & I was wondering which I should get, a workstation computer or just a general purpose computer?

workstation-500mhz, 256 ram, scsi hdd
regular-400mhz, 128 ram

I'm wanting to get one of them just as a cheap spare computer to mess with. I was told since I'm going to be using it for general use & not really as a server I should get the 400mhz. I am just curious what your thoughts on this are.

·
Registered
906 Posts
A workstation is not neccesarily a server, its a machine used for such things as Mechanical designing etc. It may be a top of the line machine in its day. It may have some specialized hardware in it for whatever it was used for.

It could also be a cheap machine used by a secretary for word processing.

You might want to look and see what it has in it and google the hardware included.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ya sorry I didn't mean to say it was necessarily a server. Maybe a bit below a server or something........ I guess :tongue: . If I can I'll see about looking into what it has for hardware. I am just curious which would be the better overall choice. (lol which may be kind of hard to decide due to my lack of information about the system internals)

·
Registered
906 Posts
owbaer said:
Ya sorry I didn't mean to say it was necessarily a server. Maybe a bit below a server or something........ I guess :tongue: . If I can I'll see about looking into what it has for hardware. I am just curious which would be the better overall choice. (lol which may be kind of hard to decide due to my lack of information about the system internals)