Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i might have posted in the wrong forum before but i am still learning i just built a computer with a asus p5ld2. i plugged in my cd-rom drive into the blue ide plug(because the manual sad that was the only one that works with cd-roms) and i made my sata my main hdd with windows. i wanted to put on a second hdd but the only availible plug are 2 red ones. i wondered if it was different from the blue one. i read the manual and it told me to put a software thing into a blank floppy and etc. i was wondering how i make the red ide plugs work because i dont know how to install the software from the floppy or which software to put onto the floppy since there is like 5 of them.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Why don't you just put the hard drive as master and the cd rom as slave on the same cable? Also, if your main HDD is SATA, do you already have the OS installed? If so, all you need to do is install the drivers for those "red ide ports" from the motherboard installation CD.

·
Registered
18,118 Posts
This is the easy and correct way to plug things in. The IDE cable probably has three connectors. One is blue, it connects to the motherboard. The second on is grey, which connects to a slave device (HDD, CD/DVD). and the third is a master (HDD, CD/DVD). The red connectors are for SATA devices and the cable can go either way since only one device can plug into it.

I've found this to work best if using only IDE devices:
IDE Channel 1: HDD on master end of cable.
IDE Channel 2: CD/DVD on master end of cable.

This works for SATA:
SATA 1: HDD
SATA 2: CD/DVD (hard to find but do exist)

This is for using both IDE and SATA:
IDE Channel 1: CD/DVD on master end of cable.
SATA 1: HDD