Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm a newbie, so I just need some clarification on something very basic. I have an HP Pavillion a520n with Win XP. When I first got this PC I made a recovery dvd as recommended. The utility only allowed one copy to be made per computer (or I could have used several CDs).

Now, my question is this: is this disk essentially my copy of the Win XP OS? Can I use this disk to potentially install XP on a new PC that I construct or a new hard drive? I have my Win 95 and my Win 98SE disks that came with my first PC and subsequent upgrade. Is this recovery dvd a "homemade" Win XP disk, or is it only able to be used on this computer to recover from, let's say, a virus or some other catastrophe? Because the PC came with no other disk for Win XP. :4-dontkno

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Ok, so I've answered part of my own question by finding and reading the EULA on my computer. The software is not licensed to be used anywhere but on this one computer. But, I think it could be installed on a new hard drive if I were to replace the existing one on this computer. However, I still don't know for sure if the recovery disk I made will accomplish this if it should become necessary. Anyone know?

·
TSF Team Emeritus
9,471 Posts
If your hard drive fails yes you will be able to install windows with the disk you created. I think that you already know that this disk will not work on another computer

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for clarifying that for me. For a new PC I guess I can install Win 98 SE and then get the XP upgrade. I'm really just beginning to research the idea of a new PC (to build or not to build...that is the question). So, thanks for the input!

·
TSF Team Emeritus
9,471 Posts