Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone, Im new to all this so please bare with me if this has been asked previously.

I have bought a new E System 303 PC which had a built in Realtek AC97 soundcard.

The sound quality from the PC however is very tinny and pretty quiet, I have to have the PC volumes up full and my Speakers volume control pretty high to get an adequate volume.

is this soundcard a rubbish one generlaly and should I upgrade to a better soundcard or does it sound like there could be a problem.

Thanks everyone

Steve

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I have been looking at my windows volume control and it gives you the option of advanced controls and the help section for windows volume states that you can adjust Bass and Treble of output sounds using the advanced control.

However the only fader which has the advanced option under it is Microphone and the bass treble faders are not selectable.

Could this mean anything?

Thanks

·
Registered
11,131 Posts
I have AC97 on my computer and my sound quality is very good. Go into control Panel and switch to classic view. Now go to Sound Effect Manager and Tab to Equalizer. Make sure it is on and set to something such as powerful or another preset one. Go to speaker Configuration and make sure it is set accordingly to your speaker set-up.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi,
yeah ive done that already. Ive got it set at Rock.

Its hard to describe the sound im getting, its pretty tinny and not like the sound I got from my old computer at all.

On my old computer i could have the volume and Wave settings about half way and it would be more than loud enough but on this computer i need Volume and Wave at full and then my speakers own volume control at about half way for it to be loud.

It just doesnt seem right.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·