Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey!~ first of all I really do apologize if this is the wrong thread but the problem I am having is rather mixed, I've been building computers for 6 years now and I have never come across this problem and have not seen any solutions on your boards.

Ok my problem is, I built me a nice new pc just for gaming but it does the complete oppasit not only that but it dosn't do half the stuff you'de expect a PC to do. It started off as just a video playing problem, when I play a video I get a black screen and my pc restarts, the same thing happens when my webcam and mic are used via yahoo and MSN. About 3 months later I stopped using some applications I used to use (generally games) I went onto playing Phantasy Star Universe. After a while I felt like going to play Ragnarok Online to see my friends, but when I ran it my pc halted for 1-2 seconds and then I got a black screen and restart again. This never happened before untill I left the program for so long, I've tried reinstalling it and no luck what so ever, from what i've gathered, it seems to be some kind of image problem or some feedback from my harddrive. Here's a list of when it happens:

1. When I watch a video

2. When I play a game with 2d sprites

3. When a game checks for updates (its a real pain)

The only way I can watch videos is if I turn Hardware Acceleration down to 3 but I only get the black screen if i use WMP, if I use winamp I just get sound but no picture, youtube runs fine and i have not tried quicktime. But this hardware acceleration thing is a pain.

I have the following:
Motherboard: Asrock K8upgrade NF-3 (http://www.pcupgrade.co.uk/productdetails.asp?ProductID=825&categoryid=270)

CPU: AMD Sempron 3100+ (64bit)

Ram: 2x512 Kingston

PSU:450watt SumVision <-- pretty cheap (probably my problem)