Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,545 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm taking an online crash course in SQL and PHP. As it is a crash course and I'm not experienced in these subjects, the instructor didn't seem clear about what is the relation between the need of creating a database and doing this right on a server. (why we can't make a database and put that on a server later?!) I was simply instructed to install wamp or lamp and start doing things what they are teaching.
I understand (or I may be wrong) installing LAMP would be turning my computer to a server... So I asked the instructor is it safe to do these on personal computer? what about the incoming connections?
In answer I was said, it's a local server, it won't connect to internet. Now the whole concept nothing makes sense. :confused:

Can help me out by explaining ?

·
Alternative Computing, Moderator
2,754 Posts
The idea of having a server is that one computer (which is on all the time has services which other computers can use).
So in this case its a databse using SQL
To create a databse you would need to install sql so if its already installed on the server easier to create it on the server.

A local server just meams one in the same building so if you had several computers in the same building or office, one would be configured as the databse.

If you need to access it from outside your own building or another town, etc then it makes sense to have the server on the internet so it can be accessed remotely.
Hope that makes sense, someone may offer better explanation

·
Registered
1,545 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The idea of having a server is that one computer (which is on all the time has services which other computers can use).
So in this case its a databse using SQL
To create a databse you would need to install sql so if its already installed on the server easier to create it on the server.