Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I was wondering whether it is possible to take a Intel Pentium 4 processor from one computer and put it into a another?
When I looked at the processor there did not seem to be anyway of taking it out?

Is it possible and if so is there a walkthrough as to how to do it?

Thanks!

·
Registered
33 Posts
Please provide the details of the processor. What socket does it use?

If both the PC has same motherboard configuration then it would be fine to transfer it to another. You can refer to the manual you may have got with your processor. Let me know if you have it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmm,

Well, I am a computer novice, and only really know the basics.

They are both Dell systems, one being a DELL Dimension 8200 and the other being a DELL Optiplex GX150.

I wish to take the processor out of the Dimension and put it into the Optiplex. You may think it is a bit strange putting something like that into an old system but the Dimension is, as far as I can tell, broke. For no reason at all it takes a good 10 minutes to load windows and then runs painstakingly slow from then on. (I am not talking just general slowdown, it is complete slowdown to the point that it is actually un-usable)

The Optilplex however runs fine. I have just upgraded the RAM, so it runs smooth with XP, now all I need to do is update the dated Celeron processor.

If you want I could take pictures of the insides of the Dimension and the Optiplex, if that helps in determining whatever it is you want to know.

The Optiplex runs on a Celeron 600MHZ, and the Dimension is running an Intel Pentium 4 2000MHZ.

Thanks for any help, greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
33 Posts
Hello MM,