Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all, I am fairly new to this sight, looks like a very good place to hang around. I have a crashing problem that is driving me nuts. I am an intermediate user and I use my PC as a DAW, ( digital audio workstation ) among other thinigs. ( Specs Below). I am having random program crashes, from mozilla to AVG, IE and even Windows explorer. Once a day or so, it hard restarts. I have XP SP1 with the latest updates, Run Zone Labs Pro, AVG, Spybot, Diskeeper 9, Registry mechanic, (doesn't find much any more). I recently ran Trend Micro's house call and found literally nothing. This also happens in F8, and another profile. :4-dontkno Last event that i found is I tried to start Diskeeper 9 and it says it failed to connect to service. tried to reinstall and the install service fails. This is interesting, went to sys. info in accy's and it says can't display info, may have been moved. I have done what I know to do before posting but am at my technical skill limit. I may be OK with reinstalling XP. I have a slipstream SP2 disk ready. I need to know if I can install with out formatting or if I need to move all my critical files to the 2nd HD. Any help would be appreciated.

Spec. 2 year old MSI 6255 P4 1.6, 764 ram, dual WD hard drives, one removeable, Profesional sound card, Aardvark PCI 4 in, 6 out, SPIDIF, MIDI. MSI CD/RW, DVD ROM, Boston Acoustic powered active sound.
Mozilla suite, IE6
Cubase, Wavelab
Fixed wireless broadband

P

·
0 Posts
We should make sure your system is %100 clean. Click on greyknights link below and follow the instructions. ( a clean up never hurts + i am sure you ll enjoy it )

Crashes in safe mode makes me think this is more of a hardware problem. Click download and install speed fan below and give us your system temps. And please do a physical clean up in your case especially heatsink and fans.