1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
raid configuration

hello all
this is a great forum.
yes linderman and the rest are correct
you will get a loop paradox of restarting and hard rebooting.

i found that out when i setup the pending p4p800-e deluxe mb
on my test bench which has installed on it win98se alone.
crashed and crashed then the coffee kicked in a haaaaa.
must translate the same for pre check boot.

hence i am using a duel boot hd with segmented win98se/winxppro

can any one guide me in finding straight foward procedures in utilizing
the sata1 and sata2 ports on the mb for configuring a raid 0 or raid0+1
on the p4p800-e deluxe i'm very new at raid configuring
have printed tons of material to read and still confused.
raid is a puzzle indeed.
all i wan't to do is attach 2 maxtor hds sata type
along with 2 ide devices .
1 tdk cdrw drive 1 tdk dvd +-rw drive.
according to manual if using raid one ide port gets shut down
am i correct? so how do i set up 2 ide devices one on master thev other on
slave on the same controller with out conflict.,

can i use both primary and secondary channels with one on each
that would make it perfect for dvd burning etc.
the pending system is a p4 @3.0 gig 800mhz
4 sticks of kingston ddr =2gb mem
1 sony fdd 2maxtor 120's serial ata matched pair
the 2 tdk drives utilizing onboard sound
an e-gforce fx5500 graphics card beefed up with a cooler and chipset
coolers no other cards in a slot yet
running on a x-connect 500 ps.
each hard drive has its own cooler on it.
the case is a tower with 2 rear fans and 2 front fans for venting and cooling.
plenty of room for cable dressing etc.
os will be winxp pro not an upgrade edt.

what do you think not a bad setup huh.
just looking for some good straight foward procedures on raid config.
andi'll be up and running with out a hitch( hopefully) soon.
looking foward to good replies.
thanks in advance.
quester12

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
@ quester12