Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am getting an exception errror relating to a powercfg.cpl problem on a WindowsXP Pro SP3 system. (Sony VAIO laptop). I can run other .cpl files but I get an error message about powercfg.cpl when I try running "power Options" in the control panel or running the .cpl file from Start|RUN. I have backed up the 3 powercfg related files in system32 and replaced them with files from my XP Pro SP3 desktop system but it still works the same.

The exact error message is <An exception occurred while trying to run "shell32.dll,Control_RunDLL "C:\WINDOWS\system32\powercfg.cpl",">

I really don't want to reload the system for this small error...but I don't just want to live with it either.

Someone please help. I am a Windows/Linux Sysadmin.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I just heard back from my vaio user. The command brought up a 3 part menu. She tried option 1 and then rebooted the system. It DID NOT fix the problem. Option 2 would require exporting settings from another computer and importing them to hers....this was not possible since it was not here at the office when she tried it. Option 3 says something about "Reload in place" and so it wasn't ran since she didn't know what it was. Please advise .....

·
Registered
6,641 Posts
Try option 2 when you have the chance.

Option 3 is a repair installation of XP, unless the documentation that came with the laptop says the contrary it shouldn't be tried on laptops that only come with a recovery disk.

She can also try to run sfc /scannow (mind the space after sfc), this will replace some system files and reset some default registry settings.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5