Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI
I am a layman at pcs. However router maintainence diagnostics show Ping failure to preferred DNS server. I am suffering badly with dropouts and connectivity. Been in touch with server who has not helped much except to say there was a problem at exchange. Anyawy I cant help feel this ping failure needs to be put right. I tried ipconfig /all on Dos but it said command not recognized. Been suffering slow speeds - since yesterday 3977 wireless errors and 3977 drop outs - 64503 RS uncorrectable errors 23012 HEC errors - not sure waht they all mean but may be of help.Woulds appreciate any help you may give. Not even sure if this is aprobelm that can be put right my end. Merry Christmas all
derek

·
Registered
5,921 Posts
If your ISP have detected problems at the exchange, then it would be unwise to start altering any router or computer configuration until those have been resolved.

I'm not sure why the computer didn't recognize the valid cmd of ipconfig /all - unless you had mistyped it - so perhaps you could have other underlying problems, but have a read through these pre-posting network requirements and supply what you can http://www.techsupportforum.com/for...-and-wireless-connectivity-issues-573730.html

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
HI
The exchange problem I am told has been repaired. My server is Tiscali ( Talk Talk) My pc is wired to D link router DSL-2680. Norton 360 antivirus.
I have now manged to run ipconfig and got the following

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\User>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : user-1519cbd529
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : dlink.com