Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys,

i just formatted my pc and now my net is ridiculously slow (3 or 4 KB's) (i have 2Mbit/s)

i keep scanning it with adaware and spybot, i have sygate installed (plus sp2 firewall), have kaspersky av installed but nothing works..

i actually got good speeds a while a go but now i'm back to square one

here's my hjt log file:

---------

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 22:24:57, on 10-10-2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Programas\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Programas\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe
C:\Programas\TaskSwitchXP\TaskSwitchXP.exe
C:\Programas\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasDtServ.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Programas\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Os meus documentos\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName = Hiperligações
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SmcService] C:\PROGRA~1\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe -startgui
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KAVPersonal50] "C:\Programas\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus Personal Pro\kav.exe" /minimize
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [gcasServ] "C:\Programas\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Programas\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [TaskSwitchXP] C:\Programas\TaskSwitchXP\TaskSwitchXP.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Programas\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Programas\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1128904005615
O16 - DPF: {B38870E4-7ECB-40DA-8C6A-595F0A5519FF} (MsnMessengerSetupDownloadControl Class) - http://messenger.msn.com/download/MsnMessengerSetupDownloader.cab
O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - "C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\msgrapp.dll" (file missing)
O23 - Service: kavsvc - Kaspersky Lab - C:\Programas\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus Personal Pro\kavsvc.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: Sygate Personal Firewall Pro (SmcService) - Sygate Technologies, Inc. - C:\Programas\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe

------------


see anything that shouldn't be there? the system itself is running smooth, it's just the net that's slow... =\
 

·
TSF Security Team, Emeritus
Joined
·
26,363 Posts
Your log appears clean. You have a powerful antivirus on guard & it's a fresh reformat. There shouldnt be malware in there.

If your download speed wasn't that bad, I would have suggested an online scan at Panda.

I tend to believe it's a problem with your service provider. Have you tried browsing some of your local sites to see if the speed is okay?

You should also disable SP2's firewall if you're using a 3rd party firewall.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
tnks for the quick reply

i did as u told and deactivated sp2 firewall

about the panda scan, i just ran it and nothing came up..

i guess it's really about my ISP, i'll probably ring them tomorrow... =|

tnks again for the reply

[]
 

·
TSF Security Team, Emeritus
Joined
·
26,363 Posts
Try searching your ISP's website for a link to a download testing site. Then do a test there. It usually will give a good indication of your downlaod speed.

Btw, have you checked that your modem is synchronising at the correct speed?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i did run a speed test, not from my isp because it doens't have one, but from another national site which is as reliable and the speed matches...5/10, sometimes 20/30, but it's too slow altogether..

sUBs said:
Btw, have you checked that your modem is synchronising at the correct speed?

i'm sorry i didn't quite follow...what do u mean by synchronising my modem?
 

·
TSF Security Team, Emeritus
Joined
·
26,363 Posts
This is where I get unstuck. I have no experience with cable modems. :3dunce:

Let me move this to the Networking section. Those guys are brilliant at this..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,290 Posts
A few suggestions, try forcing your NIC to 10Mbps Full Duplex and see what happens. I have had a few flaky NIC's that would not Auto Detect correctly causing the Internect connection to crawl.

Also trace route to a site and see what your first hop is at your cable provider. Try an extended ping (ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -t)and see if what your latency is and if there are dropped packets. The latency to your cable provider should be no greater than 25-30 ms.

JamesO
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top