Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I have just built my 1st ever pc and used Partition Magic 8.0 to make 3 Partitions.I stupidly decided to delete one but have now lost the 8GB that it held.I have done 3 XP repair and formats but it is still not seeing my lost partition.My Seagate Barracuda 200GB Hard Drive used to read 194GB but is Now 186-even after formatting-although Seagates site still sees the original 200GB.Luckily i saved all my data but its really annoying me that ive lost 8GB of space.I have tried Partition Magic to recover it but as i have formatted the drive i cannot undelete my error.Im new to partitions but i get the feeling that its still there but invisible to read-i think i may have upset the Partition Table!Im not an expert but manage to plod through so would be very grateful for any help anyone can give.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,163 Posts
Once you delete a partition then you have to go back in and repartition that space. With the old P-Magic you could add it to the existing partition, Or take some from the present partition and combine them in what ever combination you wanted.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Deleted Partition

Hi oldmm,

Thanks for replying so quick.I went back in to Partition Magic but it wont let me increase as its not seeing the Space i deleted.I ran CHKDSK and this is what it said-and just to let you know that the drive i deleted was F:drive

*Warning! f parameter not specified. running CHKDSK in read-only mode.
*Missing object id index entry or duplicate object id detected
*Errors found-CHKDSK cannot continue in read-only mode

I dont understand all this as im new to Partitions but as the drive i deleted was called F:- it seems a coincidence that this was the error message-though i have no idea if im right!