Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
906 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If one were to dig around the forum you may find my rantings about the poor results that I have had with flashing the BIOS on my P4C motherboard.

Most people have no need to flash their BIOS unless it fixes a problem with their system. But being that I am a computer hobbyist and a tinkerer I just could not resist trying again. So I downloaded the latest version 1021.004 from the European ASUS web site and used the latest ASUS windows flash utility to flash my bios from V1016 to the new version.

After the initial reboot as I expected it would not post and I had no video, Sound familiar? So I unplugged the power cord for a few moments and fired it back up, still no Post and no Video. :4-dontkno

I left it running that way for about a minute and then cycled the power with the case switch and she sprang to life. :pray:

I didnt see any obvious changes in the options but then I have not explored them all yet. But I am pleased to say that I was able to lower my Ram timings and still maintain stability with this new version.

Before the upgrade
Ram stable at 2.5-3-3-8 with a DRAM burst of 8 clocks

After the upgrade
Ram stable at 2.5-3-3-6 with a DRAM burst of 4 clocks

With the old BIOS version I had to bang the delete key several times to get into BIOS but this version does it right away. Sometimes the F10 save and exit key would not work either. These problems seem to have also been fixed in this new version.

If anyone else is running this board and BIOS version please post your findings. Did it improve your system?

·
Registered
25,116 Posts
Barry :

Like you too I often upgrade the bios just for the sake of it. (hobby)
as long one is ready to suffer the concequences of a bios from hell for then why not take the ride. Thats why I keep my old bios ready at the floppy and a "cloned" drive on ready pad one / LOL