Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have Red Hat 9 installed. The sound doesn't work, and the qraphics are very slow. I have seen in other posts that people had to run 'Ismod' or 'Ispci' from a 'shell session' to tell what the problem was. What I want to know is; how do you do this, bearing in mind I have nearly no previous Linux experience. Do you just open a Terminal window and type them in?

Cheers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok, have now run lspci, get results:

00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8377 [KT400 AGP] Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 PCI Bridge
00:0f.0 Communication controller: Intel Corp. 536EP Data Fax Modem
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB (rev 80)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB (rev 80)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB (rev 80)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 82)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 ISA Bridge
00:11.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586/B/686A/B PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 74)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 440] (rev a3)

Any ideas how I can get the sound working?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
711 Posts
as root in a shell session

modprobe ac_97

That should get sound working, if it doesn't let me know and I'll see what other modules you need to load =)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well I did that but I get:
[[email protected] sbin]# modprobe ac_97
modprobe: Can't locate module ac_97

Any ideas? Have also tried typing /sbin/modprobe ac_97 as you suggested in another post, but it gives the same message.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Well it didn't give any errors, but sound still doesn't work.
I've tried installing Alsa sound drivers, but when I got to inserting them into the kernel it didn't work. Have I mucked up the initial settings by doing this?
Installing drivers for Linux baffles me. Have to say this is one area where I resolutely prefer Windows.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
711 Posts
You haven't mucked anything up. Can you modprobe via* for me again and then do an /sbin/lsmod and paste the output into a reply so I can see what loaded? And also I don't think its mentioned but what distribution are you using? Mandrake or Redhat, SuSE?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Ok, here's what I get:

Module Size Used by Tainted: P
agpgart 46752 3 (autoclean)
nvidia 1766848 11 (autoclean)
parport_pc 18756 1 (autoclean)
lp 8868 0 (autoclean)
parport 36480 1 (autoclean) [parport_pc lp]
autofs 12948 0 (autoclean) (unused)
via-rhine 15568 1
mii 3944 0 [via-rhine]
ipt_REJECT 3896 2 (autoclean)
iptable_filter 2380 1 (autoclean)
ip_tables 14648 2 [ipt_REJECT iptable_filter]
sg 35980 0 (autoclean)
sr_mod 17912 0 (autoclean)
ide-scsi 11984 0
scsi_mod 106200 3 [sg sr_mod ide-scsi]
ide-cd 35196 0
cdrom 33472 0 [sr_mod ide-cd]
keybdev 2880 0 (unused)
mousedev 5428 1
hid 21700 0 (unused)
input 5792 0 [keybdev mousedev hid]
usb-uhci 25868 0 (unused)
ehci-hcd 19592 0 (unused)
usbcore 77696 1 [hid usb-uhci ehci-hcd]
ext3 69984 2
jbd 51220 2 [ext3]

I'm using Red Hat 9. It came with an issue of Pc Pro (as cd images on a DVD).
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top