Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a newbie trying to fix my pc and feel I have learned enough to know there maybe something wrong with the new ASUS P4VP-MX MB I have. It will not POST and I get "NO SIGNAL". Instead it powers up the fans when the PSU is switched on, regardless of pressing the case switch.

I have taken it out of the case and placed it on an antistatic mat. Then removed all leads and tried it with just PSU, speaker and CPU fan (CPU and RAM removed also). Now with this bare bones setup it still powers up the fan on PSU being switched on. There are no beeps either. If I short the power on/off pins or the reset pins it makes no difference - the power and fan remain on always.

Also tried resetting CMOS but no difference. I've also replaced PSU as well just to be sure.

Am I right in thinking it should not power the fans until the power on/off pins are shorted? Am I missing something obvious here? Tempted to try another MB but it may be my knowledge that is failing me here. Please help, this is driving me nuts.

·
Registered
25,116 Posts
Welcome to TSF:

you have done an awesome job so far of troubleshooting

are you sure you are jumping the correct pins / the pins you are trying to jump should be side wasy in alignment not vertically ??????? in other words the pins you are shorting for the mobo case power on and off switch should be side by side / at nine oclock and three oclock in relationship to each other ????

does the cpu fan spin

did you hear the audbile click when the main mobo connector and cpu 4 pin connector engaged the lock on the mobo's plastic connector ?????

how many pins is your mobo connector and how many is your PSU / i.e. are they both 20 pin to a 20 pin / or do you have a 24pin mobo being supplied by a 20 pin psu ????? are you 100% sure you have the right four pin cpu power plug ??????