Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Helloland yes I'm new to this !!!

I have a DSL connection, I have 2 routers both Wi-fi, Linksys Wrt54G and Siemens Speedstream 6520, now I have setup the wireless passwords for the Linksys still I would like to know if there is a way to make it more secure, I'm running 128 Wep encription but that's all, with the Siemens I have trouble cause it was given to me by my ISP, still I want to have the same key for both and a way to increase the range of my network, I have seen the option with my Linksys to change the channel from 1 to 11 and that means different wave lenght, not that is a huge difference but still wich one is better.

Thx for any help !!!!

Fen :sayyes:

·
Citizen of the world
51,042 Posts
The channel wavelength isn't significant, the usual reason to change the channel is to avoid some interfering device.

The improvement over WEP is WPA/PSK, which it appears both of your units support.

How do you have these two routers connected?

·
Registered
338 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I used the Siemens as the first router and the Linksys as the second, the Siemens has the DSL modem embeded but my Linksys is the one I use to connect my game consoles and pc, besides I have the Linksys (Gateway) hooked to one of the Ethernet ports in the back of the Siemens.

Is that good or bad, and how can I get more speed if posible, I mean sometimes I get a faster connection using the wireless connection to a laptop than the wired to my desktop, sorry if I'm too pushy let's just keep on the issues of the first post so we can stay on track.

Thanks for ur help btw !!

Fen

T

·
0 Posts
you can turn off ssid broadcast, not to be confussed with turning off the wireless. change the ssid from default, turn off dhcp and use static ip's.
use encryption, what ever your workstations support. change your log on password on the router.

·
Registered
338 Posts