Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi i want to installl a hard drive in to a asus motherboard.. it is a p4p800 motherbaord, but im a bit of a newb so does anyone no of a step by step newb giude to wipe a old hard drive clean and install it onto a new computer.. then i have to buy windows xp and install it on the hard drive, however that means i need to get the dvd drive working aswell, but it keeps comeing up with these messages,

scanning IDE drives
no drive attached to fastrak controller. bois is not installed.
reboot and select a proper boot device or insert media in selected boot device and press any key
disk I/O error
replace the disk, and then press any key
starting...
Microsoft windows millennium copy write Microsoft corp. 1981- 1999
A:\>
what do i need to do ? how do i install drive to fastrak controller?
Microsoft windows

im a newb so is their any giude i can read to wipe the old hdd then install it on a new comp then install window xp??

·
Registered
25,116 Posts
Welcome to TSF:

unfortunately there is no guide that i remeber seeing / however we will assist you question after question until you are running !!!!

first thing about the fastrak controller / thats a sat or raid (most likely raid) controller thats bugging you

is your current drive you want to install is it IDE or SATA / how old and what model number and maker is the drive ????? you have windows ME nagging at you so I will assume the drive was born about 2000 give or take a year / if that tru then its and IDE drive / if this is tru / enter the bios on your motherboard then go to "advanced options" then "disable" the fastrak controller or raid controller