Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new here and I'm a huge rookie with hardware upgrades etc. That said, here's my "problem". I'll explain as good as I can... here it goes:

I will start of with my system specs:
AMD Phenom™ X4 9500 quad-core processor
3 GB DDR2 Dual Channel RAM
500 GB S-ATA harddrive, 8 MB Cache, speed:7200 tpm
NVIDIA® GeForce® 9500 GT / 256 MB DDR3 SDRAM

Past Problem:
In the past, I tried to change my videocard, but the new one didn't fit my rig... that's when I realised that I don't know anything about pc 'modding'. I need help with this. I don't want to make the same mistake twice.

New Problem:
I want to change my Geforce 9500GT with a GeForce 9800GX2.

Concernes:
- Powersupply: The GeForce 9800GX2 uses more than 500 watt. Now, I don't know what my powersupply is right now. Does anyone know what the powerconsumption is of a Geforce 9500GT card?
- Bus-type: The GeForce 9800GX2 uses PCI Express 2.0. I thought I read somewhere that the geforce 9500GT uses this too. I need confirmation on this.

Sollutions:
- Can someone help me with powersupply-thingy... I absolutely don't know anything about that. Where can I find the powersupply capacity that I have know? Where can I find powersuppliers, what sort does a desktop use?
- The Bus-type is okay I think, just need confirmation from one of you guys.
- Are there other things I have to worry about? Please tell me.

Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
12,666 Posts
Welcome to tsf. Very organized post.

To find out your psu specs , open up the computer and look at the sticker on the side of the power supply. Then post back here the make and model and wattage. You are correct that you will have to upgrade it to go with a 9800 gx2 because most likely the one you have isn't powerful enough. We will help you find one.

Also , I've never actually heard of a 9500gt. But the 9800 should work in the slot.

·